Saga Magazine - October 2019

26 September 2019

Saga Magazine's October 2019 issue celebrates 35 years of being in print, and includes an interview with Renee Zellweger.



Shirley Thompson in situ in her rowing boat

Rowing the Atlantic

“Age is not an obstacle for anything. As you get older you know yourself much better, and we’re much more capable than we think. We’re capable of any sort of adventure. Anybody ordinary can do something extraordinary.”

Read more...

A basket filled with mushrooms

Mushroom foraging courses

Pick-of-the-crop courses

The River Cottage, Axminster, Devon, rivercottage.net

Wild Foods UK, numerous locations from Dartmoor to Dundee, wildfooduk.com, 01981 590604

The Fat Hen, St Buryan, Cornwall, fathen.org, 07767 792417

Taste the Wild, Pilmoor, North Yorkshire, tastethewild.co.uk, 07914 290083

The Wild Side of Life, Wiltshire, Chilterns, New Forest, thewildsideoflife.co.uk, 07979 109720

The School of Artisan Food, Nottingham, schoolofartisanfood.org, 01909 532171

Cracking Good Food, Macclesfield, Didsbury, other locations, crackinggoodfood.org, 07872 446642

Go Foraging, Bristol, goforaging.co.uk

Forage London, North London, foragelondon.co.uk

Galloway Wild Foods, Dumfries and Galloway, northern England, gallowaywildfoods.com

The best foraging breaks

In response to a growing fascination with wild food, numerous hotels hold foraging trips, feasts and breaks. Here are some of the best.

The Gurnard’s Head, Zennor, Cornwall, gurnardshead.co.uk, 01736 796928

The Tudor Farmhouse, Clearwell, Glos, tudorfarmhousehotel.co.uk, 01594 833046

Ashdown Park, Ashdown Forest, East Sussex, ashdownpark.com, 01342 824988

The Peacock, Rowsley, Derbyshire, thepeacockatrowsley.com, 01629 733518

The Forest Side, Grasmere, Cumbria, theforestside.com, 015394 35250

The Whitebrook, Whitebrook, Monmouthshire, thewhitebrook.co.uk, 01600 860254

The Angel, Abergavenny, Monmouthshire, angelabergavenny.com,01873 857121

A savings pot with a graduation cap to represent paying of a student loan 

On course for repayment

Many parents and grandparents worry about the huge ‘debt’ students incur. However, a student loan is not a debt in any normal sense of the word - Paul Lewis explains.

Read more...

Row of graduating students, young woman at the end of the row smiling 

How to help a student out financially

As a loving parent or grandparent, you might wonder how best to help a new student afford university – here’s our guide…

Read more...

An older lady with beautiful hair smiles at the camera

How to get beautiful hair

Concerned about thinning, dry and fragile hair? Leah Hardy reveals how you can get thicker, fuller, healthier-looking hair right now.

Read more...

Martin Clunes

10 minutes with Martin Clunes

The Doc Martin star tells Susan Griffin how it is.

Read more...


The opinions expressed are those of the author and are not held by Saga unless specifically stated.

The material is for general information only and does not constitute investment, tax, legal, medical or other form of advice. You should not rely on this information to make (or refrain from making) any decisions. Always obtain independent, professional advice for your own particular situation.